How can i restrict the character length of a Numeric Text box to 1 Character

Hello,

I am fairly new to Mobile App Creation and trying to learn the tricks using Kodular.
I am trying to create a component where user can type OTP in 4 separate text boxes, each box should have the character strength as 1. The moment user inserts a number in the textbox, cursor should move to the next textbox.

Can someone please help me how it can be done, i tried using “length” block, however i am unsure how to do it, probably i don’t know it yet.

Regards,
Sribatsha

Hi, @Sribatsha_Kundu welcome to the community !!!
You can use On Text Changed option with condition Text Length to control text lengh
https://docs.kodular.io/components/user-interface/text-box/#on-text-changed
and
https://docs.kodular.io/components/user-interface/text-box/#text-length
If lenght = x do you need to do !!

2 Likes

Hi,

Thanks for the help, yes, that was my first try, however it doesn’t restrict the character length of the Textbox, user will be able to insert multiple characters, upon edit of one character, the cursor moves to the next textbox.

No you need to use math component to compane with length
Look this block
blocks (5)

2 Likes

first, text length is already the length of text, you shouldn’t add length (the red one). Secondly, use segment text block.
If text length > 4, set textbox.text to: segment text=textbox.text, start = 1, length = 4. Then, call textbox cursor to end (the purple one)

Hi @bodymindpower i hope you are fine !!!
Don’t need component text length into your block to make the comparison !!!

1 Like

Of course, that’s also possible:

1 Like

@bodymindpower I think you should use equal or greater thanblock. That can also prevent users pasting text.

1 Like

Hi Anke (bodymindpower), Leandro Z (bestprintsf) and TeenKoder (WatermelonIce),

Thanks for all the guidance and help. With your inputs, this block has now addressed my requirement.

Regards,
Sribatsha

2 Likes