Testing Firebase with Companion

Hi

I am new to Kodular but I have been enjoying it for the last few weeks. Previously I have used thunkable.

My app needs to use a firebase database and I have set it up. It works when installed to a phone via an apk but not through Companion which I understand is by design?

Up to now I have used Companion for all my development / testing and its a great system, especially through the USB - very quick. If I have to do all the database development through the apk route it is not going to be usable.

Is there any way to use firebase when I am developing the app that works with Companion? Perhaps a Web API or an extension?

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Hi @Patrick_Dight Welcome to Kodular Community

Strange…it should be same in companion as in apk.
There can be some other issues.
You should show your blocks and designer properties also.

2 Likes

AFAIK, only Firebase authentication doesn’t work in the companion. Everything else should debug fine.

I should have also said that the blocks I posted give a FirebaseError Permission denied.

I missed this entirely. It didn’t occur to me that I could use the database without the Authenticating component. I already have a firebase database which I put into the url of the database component. How do I securely access the database while developing using Companion without using Firebase Authentication? I see there is a Firebase Token property already populated - do I use this in a rule? Do I set this to something from the Firebase Console?

Please excuse my not understanding such a basic point. I have read the documentation and searched but I still don’t get it.

I have a simple test…

Thanks again.

Does your test work?

No @Mateja I get Permission denied. However, when I change the firebase Database Rules to be as follows…