How to use SQlite in order to create offline tables?

Hi, guys. I really need your help! I’m creating an app that will replace a manually filed paper table, and it means I need this app to create OFFLINE TABLES, with no use of internet. I’m still learning how to use Kodular. Could you guys, please, help me?

@Andrey_Almeida Have you checked documentation below?

https://docs.kodular.io/components/storage/sqlite/

1 Like

Hello Andrey,
First of all, welcome to our forum. I’m still a greenhorn myself with Kodular, but I can already give you some things regarding offline databases. SQLite works without problems if you follow a few basic things.
Do not put this database in the assets directory!
Because you can only read it from the database. Create your own directory in the mobile device and almost all problems are solved.

Something like the way above. Not perfect but it should only show you how to get around your first problems.

Franz

1 Like

if you want to prepare some tables as initial database, then this database could be stored very well inside the assets of the app… on first run of the app just import the database from there…

@franz1 your blocks look a bit cumbersome, you might want to take a look at the example project here App Inventor Extensions: SQlite | Pura Vida Apps, which uses my sqlite extension, but the logic to read the initial database on first run of the app is the same for the Kodular sqlite component

also there is no need to export the database after closing the database, because after restarting your app your database is still there, same as TinyDB…you only have to export the database for backups or similar…
note: there is no need to import the database on each run of the app, only on first run to load the initial database…

Taifun

1 Like

I’ll give you two blocks of an app that I have a version of the bible to clarify your ideas.

1 Like

I’m gonna try to understand what you did. A huge thank yoooooou.