"While" in a function causing delay before calling it

Hi!

I’m a noob on Kodular so maybe I am posting something very simpleton, but here I am to ask some help.

I´ve just created a basic app to get familiar with Kodular and I am facing an weird non expected behavior: a time delay using an while loop is happening even before it should be performed, so if you run this app you’ll see that write commands located before this function call are only shown after this loop.

In the attached project you can find it in the “showBTState” function.

BT_teste_copy_4.aia (81.2 KB)

Please show your relevant blocks.

That’s the function I’ve mentioned.

It’s behavioring as if loop was the first thing to do.

Why is a wait procedure generally a bad idea?
The model of event processing in App Inventor by Lyn
Please Wait method by Scott

Taifun

This an app only for learning purpose. The fact that while loop is executed before other commands catched my attention and, eventually, it may mess with another app. That why I need to understand what makes it happens so.

1 Like

I think these days I had a similar problem, but I didn’t investigate deeply: I wanted to show a simple counter of how many records (from a table) had already been inserted in another table… only showed the end.… the label was blank and only at the end did it show the total of records…
I used to do this at the time of Clipper (there was no graphical environment , only MS-DOS) and it was necessary to show that there was a processing in progress…
So it was a message "Wait…Records : "+ varnumber

Rogerio_Rios,

I’ve not commented before, but I notice something similar, besides the odd behavior related to the while loop: no label6 text was written during while execution. It’s only presented the content at its end (“count is finished”). Of course, write on label6.text before loop (“starting count”) cannot be seen, but probably there was no enough time to be visually noticeable, I presume.

1 Like